Skip to content

Bradshaw’s Guide

Arundel

St. Philip’s Church, Arundel Castle, England. Taken between ca. 1890 and ca. 1900. Original: Library of Congress

Arundel is situated on the declivity of a steep hill, which commands a fine prospect. At the foot of this eminence runs the river Arun, over which is built a handsome stone bridge. From the Worthing Road the appearance of the town, with its stately castle, extensive park, and winding river, is singularly beautiful. On the north-east part of the town stands the

Castle, which has the remarkable privilege of entitling its owner to the dignity of an earl without creation. It was bequeathed by Alfred the Great to his nephew, Adhelm. It suffered considerably in the troubles which befel England in the reign of Stephen, and subsequently in the Parliamentary War. It is new in the possession of the Howard family. The late Duke of Norfolk rebuilt it on a scale of great magnificence; the only portions of the old castle remaining entire being: the keep, which forms a most striking feature from the neighbouring country, and which is now used as a preserve for a species of owl; and the gateway, built by Richard Fitzadam. The situation of the castle is one of great beauty (itself embosomed in a luxuriant grove), commanding an infinite variety of picturesque views – the valley of the Arun, with its windings, amidst the pretty high ground to the north, and the numerous villages dotting the country over on the one hand, and on the other, “the sea, the sea, the open sea,” from Beachy Head to the Wight.

The church is a handsome Gothic structure, originally forming a part of a chantry founded in the reign of Richard II. In the vicinity are Dale, Badworth, and Angmering Park. The rambler would do well to make this town his head quarters for a trip into this portion of the western section of the county of Sussex. Proceeding along the banks of the Arun, many a little nook, many a little village with its choice morceaux, may be visited to some advantage and pleasure to the tourist. A walk of some twenty miles will give much variety. A short distance will show him the ecclesiastical ruins of Amberley, built by Bishop Rede in the reign of Richard II., on the site of a still more ancient building. It occupies a large extent of ground, and, taken with the old church and village, forms a most picturesque object. An Amberley trout was deemed a fitting dish for the epicures of old. Hardham, with the remains of its priory, founded in the reign of Henry III.; Parham Park, the old seat of the De la Zouches family; Bignor Park, in the neighbourhood of which are some Roman remains; Mid-hurst, and the remains of Cawdry House, once the princely seat of the Montagues, where Edward VI. and Queen Elizabeth were nobly entertained. Returning by Cocking, Singleton, and over the lofty Downs (from which a beautiful view is obtained), Eastdean, and Eastham, realises a trip not to be surpassed in England for variety of scenery.

Spotted a mistake? Suggest a correction on GitHub.

Places nearby